2013 In Review

I’m not sure if it’s vain doing this sort of post, or sort of useful if only to me as a way of marking some sort of progress.

That’s a lot of qualifiers.

It’s been a long year.

Anyway.

Publishing

On the publications front, I had two novels published. My short, weird SF (gonzo-SF?) novel Martian Sands finally saw print in March/April or thereabouts after years of, well, stuff. So I was very pleased to see it out. I also moved on to Hodder & Stoughton with a 2-book deal, the first of which, The Violent Century, came out in late October, to mostly very nice reviews.

Osama came out in Germany, France, Spain and Italy this year. The Bookman and Camera Obscura came out in Japan.

In  short stories, I published 20 original stories this year, 19 in English and 1 in Hebrew. I have a more detailed post about them here.

I stopped publishing the World SF Blog in June, after more than four years. Surprisingly, I won a couple of awards for it this year – a BSFA Award for best non-fiction, and a special Kitschies. Which was nice.

I blurbed a few books, and wrote the introduction to the English edition of Shimon Adaf’s Sunburnt Faces. Which you should buy.

Writing

On the writing front, it’s been an incredibly busy year. I had my first screenwriting job, co-writing, with a friend, a feature for an Israeli production company. It’s gone through several drafts but a final draft is more or less there, for now.

I also sold my first mainstream comic - Adler, a five-part mini-series, with art by Paul McCaffrey, to Titan Comics, to be published late this year – around October, probably. I’ve delivered the scripts for the first 2 issues, and Paul is hard at work on finishing issue 1′s art at the moment.

I spent most of the year writing my new novel, The Drummer,which I delivered to Hodder just under the deadline a couple of weeks ago. The book was like a black hole, warping time and space around me. I’m pleased to see it gone, for now.

I also, at long last, finished my mosaic short-story cycle, Central Station, which I began around 2010. Individual stories have been published in Analog, Interzone, Clarkesworld and elsewhere. I’ve put the finishing touches on the collection.

I finished a new picture book with artist Adi Elkin.

I wrote about 12 short stories, some of them very short, some of them Central Station stories.

Coming in 2014

If all goes to plan, The Drummer should be out this October. My anthology, The Apex Book of World SF 3, should be out around August (or possibly towards the end of the year). Adler #1 should be out around October. I’ve also been working on a new anthology project, which is coming together very nicely, and should be out sometime in 2014. Apart from that, there’s a possibility that my Guns & Sorcery collection, Black Gods Kiss, will be out from PS Publishing (a companion piece to Gorel & The Pot-Bellied God).

I also have about 9 short stories scheduled to appear in 2014 so far. I am pretty much out of stories now, but I hope to write some new ones, and actually managed to finish 2 after sending off The Drummer. I miss short stories.

Writing-wise, I have a new novel to write, and Adler to finish. I’m also adapting – something – into a screenplay at the moment. I’ve got some more graphic novel/comics things I’m working on.

… but otherwise, I’m probably going to take it easy this year!

2 thoughts on “2013 In Review

  1. Martian Sands ( shades of PKD ) best SF/AltFiction/Novel … Whatever I’ve read in a very long time !
    Thank You ! May you live long and prosper !

Comments are closed.