New interview with me – Entrevista en español!

I’ve been interviewed for the Sense of Wonder blog about Osama, as part of their coverage of the BSFA Award nominees. It is available in both English and Spanish.

I have a lot of, you know, what you’d call “influences”, writers or books I admire. It’s hard to give an answer to that one. I think, with regards to Osama, I was particularly interested in that sort of European sensibility with regards to crime fiction. If you think of, say, Peter Høeg’s Miss Smilla’s Feeling for Snow, which combines all these different genres to make something rather profound, rather unexpected. Or Manuel Vázquez Montalbán, who again, uses the crime “formula” in a completely different way to the Americans, using to ask important questions – I think his The Buenos Aires Quintet is just wonderful. Or Arturo Pérez-Reverte’s The Dumas Club, which again plays with this idea of genres. I was influenced a lot by that approach to fiction, which is using “crime” in a very non-formulaic way. – read the full interview.