Breaking the Bow: Speculative Fiction Inspired by the Ramayana

I received my contributor copies of Breaking the Bow: Speculative Fiction Inspired by the Ramayana, edited by Anil Menon and Vandana Singh, published by Zubaan Books in India.

 

This feels like a very exciting anthology to me. It includes mostly stories by Indian writers (from both India and the diaspora) but not only (it also includes my story, “This, Other World” and other stories by non-Indian writers), and the variety on display is impressive. I’m slowly reading through this – every story is a re-imagining of the Ramayana to some extent, but some are fantasy or myths or satire, some are hard SF. I’m not aware of any Indian SF anthologies – Anil tells me there are a few, mostly YA – and this really does feel very new to me, very fresh.

I think, if you’re interested in what contemporary Indian writers are doing with genre fiction, you really need to get this anthology – admittedly, it is only currently available in India, though I believe it can be ordered online.

Very high quality so far, and some writers I’ll be keeping an eye out for in future. Anil and Vandana did a superb job editing this, and Zubaan’s production values are impressive, it’s a really gorgeous book to hold.

I’d love to see more anthologies like this in future.