Alt. History Posters #1: Oswald Mosley

Oswald Mosley (1896-1980) was the leader of the British Union of Fascists. In our reality he was mostly ineffectual, and spent the majority of the Second World War incarcerated in Holloway Prison.

In A Man Lies Dreaming Mosley’s BUF has gained power and he is running for Prime Minister in 1939. Set in the lead up to the elections, I wanted to go for a suitably chilling election poster for Mosley, but everything we came up with just looked… too real. Eventually my agent made the (in hindsight, obvious) suggestion for the caption… which makes the whole thing suddenly that much more chilling.

This is one of two pieces done as concept art for A Man Lies Dreaming by Sarah Anne Langdon.

Mosley Poster

On the corner with Dean Street I saw a group of blackshirts standing together in a dark mob, eyeing the passers-by with sullen hostility. On a wall I saw a placard for Mosley’s election campaign. Oswald’s handsome British face stared out at me with its dapper moustache and ironic smile. I saluted him, crisply. Then I went into the Hofgarten.