The Lunacy Commission Out Now!

My latest collection, The Lunacy Commission, is out today in e-book and paperback. After I finished writing A Man Lies Dreaming I discovered I couldn’t quite let go of Wolf, as awful as he was. Over the past few years I dipped into his early adventures, set in the years 1937-1938, before the events of the novel itself. These were published – one in Apex Magazine, a couple in Maxim Jakubowski’s crime anthologies – but I wanted to put them together in a more permanent home. I doubt there will be anymore.

The new collection has an introduction by Silvia Moreno-Garcia. The cover is by Sarah Anne Langton (matching the latest US edition of A Man Lies Dreaming in a fun parody of old Penguin Classics – “make it a Nazi Penguin”, I said, though we didn’t take it quite that far in the end). It contains one original story, “The Lunacy Commission” of the title, and a historical afterword setting some of the events and characters in context. You can get it here:

Table of Contents:

  • Introduction by Silvia Moreno-Garcia
  • Red Christmas
  • The Lunacy Commission
  • Killing Kiss
  • A Wonderful Time
  • The Spear of Destiny
  • Historical Afterword