BSFA Award!

Was very surprised – and pleased! – last night to find out I won the BSFA Award for Best Non-Fiction, for my work on the World SF Blog.

The blog’s fiction editor, Sarah Newton, was on hand at the awards ceremony to accept on my behalf. I wrote a short speech:

We started the World SF Blog four years ago, in order to have a conversation: a conversation about science fiction and about diversity, a conversation we felt it was important to have. I’d like to thank Charles Tan, for being there from the very start; our former fiction editor, Debbie Moorhouse, and present fiction editor Sarah Newton(don’t blush, Sarah!). And I’d like to thanks Jason Sizemore, of Apex Books, for believing in this project from the very beginning.

I have seen a lot of changes in genre fiction in the past four years, a greater awareness to do with representation, and a strong and vigorous discussion of assumptions only a few years ago no one thought to question.

I am delighted I’ve been able to contribute to that discussion, in whatever minor capacity, and very grateful to the members of this convention for recognising us in this way.

Thank you.

And here’s Sarah with the award! Which I will hopefully be picking up in person later this week.

BSFA Award


BSFA Award

News this morning that I’m nominated for the BSFA Award in the non-fiction category, for the World SF Blog.

My name may be on it but the blog wouldn’t exist without the help of several people, chief amongst them Charles Tan, our current fiction editor Sarah Newton and former fiction editor Debbie Moorhouse, and our rag-tag team of contributors. Next month marks four years of the blog, so its a particular pleasure that it is recognised today.

book news

Camera Obscura nominated for a Sidewise Award

I’m delighted to say that Camera Obscura is nominated for the Sidewise Award for alternate history, in the long-form category.

I have to admit, the Sidewise is one of my favourite awards, as I love alternative histories – I never expected to be nominated for it though! This is the second award nomination for Camera Obscura, following the Airship Award nomination last year. And, interestingly, my fifth award nomination this year (following the Kitschies, BSFA, BFS and Campbell nominations). A bit of naches, to use the Yiddish term…

Here’s the full press release with nominees:

We are pleased to announce this year’s nominees for the Sidewise Award
for Alternate History. The winners will be announced at Chicon 7,
this year’s Worldcon, in Chicago, Illinois during the weekend of
August 30. The Sidewise Awards have been presented annually since
1995 to recognize excellence in alternate historical fiction. This
year’s panel of judges was made up of Stephen Baxter, Evelyn Leeper,
Jim Rittenhouse, Stu Shiffman, Kurt Sidaway, and Steven H Silver.

Congratulations and best of luck.

Short Form

* Michael F. Flynn, The Iron Shirts (
* Lisa Goldstein, Paradise Is a Walled Garden (Asimov’s, 8/11)
* Jason Stoddard, Orion Rising (Panverse 3, edited by Dario Ciriello,
Panverse Publishing)
* Harry Turtledove, Lee at the Alamo (

Long Form

* Robert Conroy, Castro’s Bomb (Kindle)
* Robert Conroy, Himmler’s War (Baen Books)
* Jeff Greenfield, Then Everything Changed (Putnam)
* Ian R MacLeod, Wake Up and Dream (PS Publishing)
* Ian McDonald, Planesrunner (Pyr)
* Ekaterina Sedia, Heart of Iron (Prime)
* Lavie Tidhar, Camera Obscura (Angry Robot)

The Sidewise Awards for Alternate History were conceived in late 1995
to honor the best allohistorical genre publications of the year. The
first awards were announced in summer 1996 and honored works from
1995. The award takes its name from Murray Leinster’s 1934 short story
“Sidewise in Time,” in which a strange storm causes portions of Earth
to swap places with their analogs from other timelines.

For more information, contact Steven H Silver at
or go to

book news

Osama nominated for a British Science Fiction Association Award

Surprised and delighted to find out this morning that Osama has been nominated for Best Novel in the British Science Fiction Association (BSFA) Awards. Even more delighted that Pedro Marques’s amazing cover of Osama is also nominated!

Just look at that cover!

The full list of nominees:

Best Novel

Cyber Circus by Kim Lakin-Smith (Newcon Press)

Embassytown by China Mieville (Macmillan)

The Islanders by Christopher Priest (Gollancz)

By Light Alone by Adam Roberts (Gollancz)

Osama by Lavie Tidhar (PS Publishing)

Best Short Fiction

The Silver Wind by Nina Allan (Interzone 233, TTA Press)

The Copenhagen Interpretation by Paul Cornell (Asimov’s, July)

Afterbirth by Kameron Hurley (Kameron Hurley’s own website)

Covehithe by China Mieville (The Guardian)

Of Dawn by Al Robertson (Interzone 235, TTA Press)

Best Non-Fiction

Out of This World: Science Fiction but not as we Know it by Mike Ashley (British Library)

The SF Encyclopedia, 3rd Edition ed. John Clute, Peter Nicholls and David Langford (website)

Review of Arslan by M J Engh, Abigail Nussbaum (Asking the Wrong Questions blog)

SF Mistressworks, ed. Ian Sales (website)

Pornokitsch, ed. Jared Shurin and Anne Perry (website)

The Unsilent Library: Essays on the Russell T. Davies Era of the New Doctor Who (Foundation Studies in Science Fiction), ed. Graham Sleight, Tony Keen and Simon Bradshaw (Science Fiction Foundation)

Best Art

Cover of Ian Whates’s The Noise Revealed by Dominic Harman (Solaris)

Cover and illustrations of Patrick Ness’s A Monster Calls by Jim Kay (Walker)

Cover of Lavie Tidhar’s Osama by Pedro Marques (PS Publishing)

Cover of Liz Williams’s A Glass of Shadow by Anne Sudworth (Newcon Press)

book news

Osama nominated for the Kitschies Award

Very glad to say Osama has been nominated for the Kitschies Award for Best Novel, established to celebrate “the year’s most progressive, intelligent and entertaining works of genre literature.”

There’s a nice write-up in the Guardian, too.

The full list of nominees:

Red Tentacle (Novel):
The Enterprise of Death by Jesse Bullington (Orbit)
Embassytown by China Miéville (Tor)
A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness and Siobhan Dowd (Walker Books)
The Testament of Jessie Lamb by Jane Rogers (Sandstone)
Osama: A Novel by Lavie Tidhar (PS Publishing)

Golden Tentacle (Debut Novel): 
Among Thieves by Douglas Hulick (Tor)
God’s War by Kameron Hurley (Night Shade Books)
The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern (Harvill Secker)
Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs (Quirk)
The Samaritan by Fred Venturini (Blank Slate Press)

Inky Tentacle (Best Cover): 
Rivers of London by Ben Aaronovitch; illustration by Stephen Walter, design by Patrick Knowles (TAG Fine Arts) (Gollancz)
The Last Werewolf by Glen Duncan; design by Peter Mendelsund (Canongate)
The Prague Cemetery by Umberto Eco; design by Suzanne Dean, illustration by John Spencer (Harvill Secker)
Equations of Life by Simon Morden; design by Lauren Panepinto (Orbit)
A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness and Siobhan Dowd; illustration by Jim Kay (Walker Books)

The winners will be announced on February 3 at the SFX Weekender convention held in Prestatyn, north Wales.

book news

Camera Obscura nominated for an Airship Award

Very glad to report that Camera Obscura has been nominated for the Airship Award in the written category! The Airship Awards are given for a variety of steampunk categories at Steamcon, an annual steampunk convention.

The nominees in the written category are:

Phoenix Rising: A Ministry of Peculiar Occurrences Novel, Tee Morris & Pip Ballantine (Harper Voyager)
The Strange Affair of Spring Heeled Jack, Mark Hodder (Pyr)
Camera Obscura, Lavie Tidhar (Angry Robot)
The Half-Made World, Felix Gilman (Tor)

Very nice company to be in! A full list of nominees can be found here.