short stories

“Sleepless in R’lyeh” in Dark Currents

My story “Sleepsless in R’lyeh” – or Sleepless in Seattle meets Cthulhu – will appear in Ian Whates’ Dark Currents anthology from Newcon Press, alongside some very cool people. It will be officially launched at Eastercon in April, but is available to pre-order, in both a signed hardcover edition and in paperback. Here’s the cover and full table of contents:

Table of Contents:

1. Introduction by Ian Whates
2. The Fall of Lady Sealight – Adrian Tchaikovsky
3. The Age of Entitlement – Adam Nevill
4. Electrify Me – Tricia Sullivan
5. Alternate Currents – Rod Rees
6. The Barricade – Nina Allan
7. Things that Are Here Now – Andrew Hook
8. Loose Connections – Finn Clarke
9. Sleepless in R’lyeh – Lavie Tidhar
10. Damnation Seize my Soul – Jan Edwards
11. Home – Emma Coleman
12. A Change in the Weather – Rebecca J Payne
13. Bells Ringing Under the Sea – Sophia McDougall
14. In Tauris – Una McCormack
15. Lost Sheep – Neil Williamson
16. The Bleeding Man – Aliette de Bodard
17. George – V.C. Linde

short stories

The Lives and Deaths of Che Guevara

The second of four stories I have out this month is “The Lives and Deaths of Che Guevara”, in the just-released Solaris Rising anthology, edited by Ian Whates from Solaris Books.

On the night of October 10, 1967, the residents of Vallegrande woke up uneasily with their mouths watering and the smell of pork crackling wafting through the air. It was a rare delicacy in the small Bolivian town, and children and adults as one went out into the quiet street to look for the source of the smell.

It is a small, pretty colonial town, Vallegrande, about 125 kilometres away from Santa Cruz. It has a church and a town square, an airstrip and a bakery and a school.

And the smell was coming out of the bakery.


It had been an exciting day in the life of Vallegrande. Only on October 9, just one day before, a military helicopter had landed in the small strip and the lifeless body of Ernesto “Che” Guevara was brought out. He had been shot nine times.

short stories

TOC: Solaris Rising

Editor Ian Whates has announced the table of contents for new anthology Solaris Rising: The New Solaris Book of Science Fiction.

  1. “A Smart-Mannered Uprising of the Dead” by Ian McDonald
  2. “The Incredible Exploding Man” by Dave Hutchinson
  3. “Sweet Spots” by Paul di Filippo
  4. “Best SF of the Year Three” by Ken MacLeod
  5. “The One that Got Away” by Tricia Sullivan
  6. “Rock Day” by Stephen Baxter
  7. “Eluna” by Stephen Palmer
  8. “Shall I Tell You the Problem with Time Travel?” by Adam Roberts
  9. “The Lives and Deaths of Che Guevara” by Lavie Tidhar
  10. “Steel Lake” by Jack Skillingstead
  11. “Mooncakes” by Mike Resnick and Laurie Tom
  12. “At Play in The Fields” by Steve Rasnic Tem
  13. “How We Came Back From Mars” by Ian Watson
  14. “You Never Know” by Pat Cadigan
  15. “Yestermorrow” by Richard Salter
  16. “Dreaming Towers, Silent Mansions” by Jaine Fenn
  17. “Eternity’s Children” by Eric Brown and Keith Brooke
  18. “For the Ages” by Alastair Reynolds
  19. “Return of the Mutant Worms” by Peter F. Hamilton